Canning marathon and tips.

Summer is drawing to a close, and I’ve canned my fair share this year. Tomato jam, peach bbq sauce, so much fig jam. Not to mention cherry, cherry blueberry, grapefruit mint, strawberry, mullberry, relish, pickles, and much more. Last night, I canned all this stuff.

image

Wow. I have problems. It’s not really normal for me to can this much in a week, but so much amazing food wad donated that I couldn’t bear to see it go bad. Sigh. But, even if you don’t have problems like me, you can still preserve food. You could:

Freeze something

Oven dry some tomatoes or peppers (250 oven for 4-6 hours, with a little olive oil, till visibly dried)

Make pesto with any leftover herbs, some nuts and oil. Really any combination that sounds good, food process and eat up!

Make fridge pickles. Half vinegar, half water, spices and some veggies. Get creative! Store in the fridge for a month or so.

Or let me know, and I can consult!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

