Melon jam

Strangely, melon jam is one of the most complimented jams I make. It’s really unexpected, I think. But delicious! The last batch I made was made with some canteloupes that were on their way to the compost. It’s always surprising how delicious melons can be when they look almost bad.

This time, I went to the amazing Persian market near me and picked up 3 melons for 59 cents a pound. They were bright orange on the outside, but turned out to be green on the inside. Delicious, though. So, I made two small batches of jam, one with habanero, and one plain. I had a request from a customer to make more spicy jam, and I figured this one would remind me of the Mexican fruit cups with chili and citrus. And it did. Yum.

image

Recipe:

2 pounds melon, chopped finely
Juice of one lemon
Pinch sea salt
2 1/2 cups sugar

And optional 1-2 habanero chilis, minced. They add pretty orange flecks!

I masceraed these overnight with the sugar and lemon to maximize the breakdown of the melon. I wanted as few chunks as possible in the final jam. I also used a potato masher at the end, before a hard boil to finish the set.

Questions about canning? Let me know! These were processed in a water bath for 10 minutes. Each batch made 4 pints, just about. I used some 4 ounce jars for the super spicy version as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

